How to Roll Back your Windows 10 Upgrade

Many users are not happy after upgrading to Windows 10. They complain about incompatible programs, driver issues and express dissatisfaction in general.

If you’re someone who has problems using Windows 10 and doesn’t wish to continue using it, you can consider rolling back to Windows 7 or 8.1. Thanks to Microsoft, this option is available and in this article, we will walk you through the process of rolling back and make the transition easy.

Steps to rollback to Windows 7 or 8.1 from Windows 10

  1. Click on the Windows icon on your computer and type Settings in the search bar
  2. Open Settings and select Update & Security
  3. Here you will find various options such as Windows Update, Backup, Activation, Recovery and Windows Defender. Click on Recovery and proceed
  4. Here you will find 3 options:
  • Reset PC: This option is used to reinstall Windows and to reset your PC completely
  • Go back to the previous version of Windows: This option is available for only 30 days after upgrading to Windows 10. Using this you can roll back your PC to an older Windows version
  • Advanced Startup: Use this option if you want to boot from another device or restore a System Image.
  1. From the 3 options, select Go back to the previous version of Windows. At this point, you will be given a choice of whether to ‘Keep your files’ or ‘Remove everything’. If you select ‘Keep your files’ option, the system will keep your files, but the latter will remove all files, apps, and settings.
  2. Next, Microsoft will ask you a reason for going back. Select a reason and provide feedback for Windows 10
  3. Connect your PC to a power source and proceed with the process as it may take a while.

Once the process is completed, you will be back to the previous version of Windows automatically.

Note: Make sure you know the password for your previous version of Windows as you will need it to log in to your system.

Backup your data

Before you make any changes to your OS like upgrading to downgrading to other versions, always remember to back up your files as you may lose data during the process.

Usually, when you upgrade your Windows, data from the previous Windows version is stored in a folder called Windows.old. But if you have used a Disk Cleaner to clean your PC, this folder may be deleted and you may not be able to retrieve your files.

In order to recover deleted Windows.old folder, you can use professional data recovery tools such as Yodot hard drive recovery. The software can also be used to recover all your partitions and data after upgrading of Windows, reinstalling Windows or formatting your system.

How does Yodot Hard Drive Recovery work?

The software scans your drive sector-wise and recovers data. The benefit of using this software is that after recovery, the structure and content of your files are retained. Download a trial version and try the product for free!